Neely

1001071_itA_138

Neely and Ansley Jane are opposite personalities.  Those that know them, or those that have spent 2 seconds with them can tell that they act different, talk different, laugh different, look different, etc.  I have had a fun time over the past couple of weeks watching them take swimming lessons.  They each have a 30 minute private lesson, while 1 is in their lesson, I take the other swimming, then we switch.  I’ll post some pictures of this later.

Neely absolutely refused to put her face in the water the first few lessons.  She would  jump in, only if the teacher touched her fingers before she jumped to ensure her head would not go under water.  Neely then told her teacher she was scared that the sharks were gonna get her if she put her face under water.  Her next excuse was that the water hurts her nose, then that it hurts her eyes (despite her wearing goggles), etc. You get the picture. 

Ansley Jane on the other hand, is fearless.  She jumps in and goes all the way to the bottom of the pool, goes down the huge water slide by herself, and asks to put her head under water.  She loves it and cannot get enough of being in the water. 

After 7 lessons, I am happy to report that Neely is putting her face in the water and jumping in by herself.  She swims, without her face in the water, but she has made so much progress. I am starting to think I may be able to take them to pool this summer by myself!  WOOHOO!! I am so proud of them!!!

Leave a comment